Women in Tech

Top 50 women in engineering 2024

2nd July 2024
Sheryl Miles

To mark International Women in Engineering Day on 23rd June 2024, the Women’s Engineering Society (WES) recognised pioneering women in engineering, celebrating their achievements under the theme of 'Enhanced by Engineering'.

Further celebrating this theme, WES also announced the 2024 Top 50 Women in Engineering (WE50) awards.

Each year, the Top 50 Women in Engineering are announced on International Women in Engineering Day (INWED).

This year's winners are engaged in diverse projects, such as flood management, cyber security, renewable energy, spacecraft development, pollution reduction, and recycled plastic books. Their varied expertise highlights the pervasive nature of engineering in modern life and its critical role in fostering a sustainable future.

The 2024 winners come from a wide range of sectors, including transport, construction, technology, and healthcare. Nominations were submitted by individuals and professional institutes, highlighting women who have excelled in their fields by creating engineering solutions that enhance lives. The awards were evaluated by an independent panel of industry experts, led by Professor Danielle George, Head Judge and Professor of Radio Frequency Engineering and Associate Vice President at the University of Manchester.

Congratulations to all those who were nominated and all those who won.

This years’ winners

  • Dr Chika Judith Abolle-Okoyeagu, Head of Department, Robert Gordon University
  • Carolyn Ainsworth, Deputy Director Engineering, National Cyber Security Centre
  • Nike Amiaka, Technical Professional Leader – Safety (Consultant), Kellogg Brown & Root
  • Maira Bana, CFD Manager, RED Engineering Design
  • Elva Bannon, Research and Engineering Manager, Wave Energy Scotland
  • Danielle, Software Engineer, GCHQ
  • Professor Luiza C. Campos, Professor of Environmental Engineering, University College London
  • Dr Michele Cano, Head of Engineering and Physical Sciences, University of West of Scotland
  • Harpreet Kaur Chahal, Project Manager, HDR Inc.
  • Helen Davis, Engineering Manager & Lead Supervising Civil Engineer, Binnies
  • Ciara Doherty, Project Manager, Babcock Rail
  • Professor Judith Driscoll, Professor, University of Cambridge
  • Ghada Elsheikh, Associate, HDR Inc.
  • Kim Everitt, Transport Systems Engineer, Energy Systems Catapult
  • Nabihah Ghufoor, Engineer, Arup
  • Tina Glover, Technical Director, Project Centre
  • Catherine Gruber, Principal Mechanical Engineer, Mott MacDonald
  • Dr Abigail Hathway, Senior Lecturer, University of Sheffield
  • Dr Emma Hellawell, Principal Engineer, LEAP Environmental
  • Dr Charlotte Higgins, Associate Director, Arup
  • Hiba Khan, Civil Engineer, Mott MacDonald
  • Charlotte Kidd, Design and Development Engineer, Renishaw Neuro Solutions
  • Dr Desen Kirli, Elizabeth Georgeson Fellow, University of Edinburgh
  • Alexandra Koutsouki, Senior Bridge Engineer, Arup
  • Voon Lai, Senior Associate EICA Engineer, Mott MacDonald
  • Amanda Lake, Head of Carbon and Circular Economy – Water Europe, Jacobs
  • Marxileni Lapuz, Senior Sustainability Consultant, Black&White Engineering
  • Huyen Le, Doctorial Researcher, Loughborough University
  • Dr Cristina-Steliana Mihailovici, Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, LJMU International Study Centre
  • Natalia Narożańska, Lead Simulation Engineer, Evolito Ltd
  • Ada Nwadigo, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, Jona Infrastructure Advisory & Eng Trepreneur
  • Dr Paula Palade, AI Ethics Senior Technical Specialist, Jaguar Land Rover
  • Misha Patel, DPhil Student, University of Oxford
  • Muneebah Quyyam, Senior Engineer, AtkinsRealis
  • Sanaa Rashid, Space Systems Engineer, Astroscale
  • Helen Rowe, Structures and Tunnels Asset Manager, Kent County Council
  • Barbara Sacha, Partner, Cundall
  • Deeksha Sampath, Technology Transfer Engineer, Warwick Manufacturing Group
  • Rachel Sandham, Associate Director, Arup
  • Dr Ekaterina Sergeeva, Functional Safety Manager, Battery System Engineering Product Advisor, Accelera by Cummins
  • Victoria Sharpe, Managing Director, Exstent Limited
  • Amy Shaw, Fens Flood Risk Manager, Environment Agency
  • Dr Shini Somara, Fluid Dynamicist and Broadcaster, eSTEAMd Media
  • Jacqueline Chinwe Stephen, Future Energy Leader, World Energy Council
  • Melanie Thrush, Principal Geoenvironmental Engineer, Arup
  • Katie Tidd, Materials Engineer in Engineering Analysis, Evolito Ltd
  • Dr Rebecca Wade, Senior Lecturer in Environmental Science, Abertay University
  • Emily Walport, Materials Engineer, Arup
  • Claire Watson, Water Utilities Delivery Director, Binnies
  • Seren White, Survivability Engineer, Defence Equipment and Support

Featured products

Product Spotlight

Upcoming Events

View all events
Latest global electronics news
© Copyright 2024 Electronic Specifier