Events News

CST University Publication Award winners announced

2nd January 2014
Nat Bowers

Winners of an annual grant given to university institutes and researchers for published papers related to 3D electromagnetic field simulation applications, the CST University Publication Award 2013 have been announced by Computer Simulation Technology. Highlighting CST's support in furthering research and innovation within universities, 2013 marks the 10th anniversary of the Award.

The CST University Publication Award acknowledges the importance of work from university researchers and academics by granting winners extensions and upgrades to their CST STUDIO SUITE installations.

According to the selection committee, there are three conditions for participation: the papers must be authored or co-authored by university researchers; they must have been published either in scientific journals or conference proceedings; and the numerical results must be entirely or in part obtained through simulations using CST software products.

A variety of criteria were used for eveluation, including originality of application and theory, clarity of presentation, and the skilful use of CST software. A special award is also given for short papers of four pages or less, to acknowledge the importance of short conference papers in promoting practical applications of simulation.

Dr. Martin Timm, Director of Global Marketing, CST, comments: “The quality of the publications submitted was outstanding and this emphasizes why we continue to support university institutions and their research through the CST University Publication Award. Even after 10 years of granting the award, selecting a winner is never easy. Learning about the vast range of interesting and novel areas of application is a privilege and I’d like to thank everyone who has continued to support this initiative by contributing their papers.”

The following papers have been selected to receive the CST University Publication Award 2013:

  • "Polarization-Independent Metamaterial Analog of Electromagnetically Induced Transparency for a Refractive-Index-Based Sensor"; Fan-Yi Meng, Qun Wu, Daniel Erni, Ke Wu, and Jong-Chul Lee. IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, Vol. 60, No. 10, October 2012.
  • "Investigation of Electromagnetic Field Perturbation With Respect to Mechanical Imperfections in Radio-Frequency-Quadrupole (RFQ) Structure"; Ki R. Shin, Yoon W. Kang, Sang-Ho Kim and Aly E. Fathy. IEEE Transactions on Nuclear Science Vol. 59, No. 5, October 2012.
  • "Decoupling of Multiple Antennas in Terminals With Chassis Excitation Using Polarization Diversity, Angle Diversity and Current Control"; Hui Li, Buon Kiong Lau, Zhinong Ying, and Sailing He. IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, Vol. 60, No. 12, December 2012.
  • "Simulation of Lung Edema in Impedance Cardiography"; Mark Ulbrich, Jens Mühlsteff, Marian Walter, Steffen Leonhard. Computing in Cardiology (CinC), 2012; 39;33-36.

Featured products

Latest products

Upcoming Events

View all events
Latest global electronics news
© Copyright 2020 Electronic Specifier