Junkosha launches second Technology Innovator of the Year Award

29th March 2023
Sheryl Miles

Pioneers of sophisticated fluoropolymer application technologies across medical device and microwave interconnect sectors, Junkosha, is launching its second Technology Innovator of the Year Awards on 28th March 2023.

The Awards programme has been designed to recognise the innovative work of an individual or team working in the delivery of products used within interventional medical procedures or microwave/millimetreWave technologies. A year-long scheme, the winning entrant will receive a sum of $25,000 to invest in their worthwhile project.

Since its inception in 2021, the spirit of the Award has remained unchanged – to ensure as many technology innovators are endorsed through this Award programme as possible. Aligned with the core of the Junkosha brand message, the company is committed to enabling technology innovators worldwide through everything that it does.

From early-stage startups to experienced industry leaders and everyone in between, Junkosha’s Technology Innovator of the Year Award aims to be a platform for microwave technologies and medical device sectors to showcase the achievements of pioneers in advanced technology together with their contributions to society.

Joe Rowan, Chairperson of the Award, explains: “We are really excited about what this year’s awards will bring. As we continually look to advance the next generation of technology for a better future, our promise to enable technology innovators globally remains the foundation of Junkosha’s brand identity.

“Building upon the success of the inaugural awards, there is still a great deal to be done.” continues Rowan. “There are still many funding challenges startups face in this space as investors become more discerning. We see these Awards at least in part helping to tackle these issues.”

  • Rowan will join a panel of esteemed judges chosen for their impressive industry credentials, including:
  • Nitin Salunke, President and CEO at Supira Medical part of the Shifamed Group
  • Bela Brian Szendrenyi, Senior R&D Design Consultant for Advantest America
  • Steve Maxson, Innovation and Business Development, US Extruders
  • Chris Hancock, Founder and Chief Technical Officer, Creo Medical

Last year’s Awards included a number of high calibre submissions including mission driven, medical device company Creo Medical. The company’s product, which applies advanced energy to the emerging field of surgical endoscopy, ultimately won the inaugural Technology Innovator of the Year Award. The ceremony took place at the European Microwave Week event in London, UK, and saw Chairperson of the Awards Joe Rowan present Chris with the Award and the $25,000 prize.

The winner of the Category Award, Stepan Lucyszyn, was also presented with his trophy at the ceremony. Lucyszyn and his team at Imperial College London were recognised for their academic research designing, simulating, manufacturing, testing, and analysing novel 3D-printed microwave and millimetre wave materials, components, and subsystems. 

“The level of exposure that the winner and those shortlisted have had over the last year has been note-worthy, and we hope this trend continues with new applicants getting involved this year and allowing us to share their stories”, concludes Rowan.

Entries for the Junkosha Technology Innovator of the Year Award are open online.

Product Spotlight

Upcoming Events

View all events
Latest global electronics news
© Copyright 2024 Electronic Specifier